Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1099-B Question

Hi,
    Okay, I am preparing a return for a new customer who has 1099B proceeds. I have never done this before (only my 2nd year preparing returns) and I am not sure what to do.

The 1099B is printed on their portfolio and states "Gross proceeds from each transaction are individually reported to the IRS after deducting commissions. For bond transactions, accrued income is also deducted. Taxable accrued interest is reported on Form 1099-INT and included in your 'Details of 1099 Reported Interest Income' ".

Below this is a list of about 10 different tranactions for 2005. I am given the Reference Number, Date of Sale/Exchange, CUSIP number, Quantity, Description(Box7), Price, Gross proceeds less commissions (Box2), and Federal Income Tax Withheld for each transaction.

What do I do with all of this? I've began researching already, but I was hoping I could get some direction from here. I'd really appreciate any information you can give me.

That will go on a Schedule D, hopefully the papers you have from brokerage firm also lists the basis that your taxpayer had in each of these stock transactions, if not, you will have to find out.

Comment

more information

I found a spot titled "Details of Short & Long Term Gain or Loss" where the opening trade date and closing dates are listed, as well as the sale proceeds and original cost and then also the loss or gain. There looks to be an overall loss of $8500.

What I am confused about is in a separate area, under 1099B, it lists the Gross Proceeds less commissions for each stock and the numbers are adding up to $48,000.

How can there be a loss and proceed for each stock (they are exactly the same stocks listed I checked the reference numbers.

What gets reported where? What are they actually taxed/not taxed on?

Hope I am making sense, because my head is spinning!

Comment