Due Diligence With Mileage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Due Diligence With Mileage

I had a customer call me today and said that someone from work told him he could deduct mileage for his job. First he never told me he drove so much for his job and I have been doing his taxes for 3 years.

I went on to explain about commuting versus deductible mileage. He said he goes from his job to call on customers. He then gave me a figure of 30,000 miles he drove. Deduction is around $14,000. W-2 shows $24,000 at his job. So he only made $10,000???

I asked him if he had a log of the customers he called on and the date. No he does not. I asked him about the odometer and receipts from when he got his oil changed. He said he got a new car at the end of 2006 and gets the oil changed every 2,000 miles. But he doesn't know where the receipts are at.

I explained what he needed for the deduction if ever audited. A log book showing the customers, when he called on them, or even a calendar showing this.

I would like to ask what is my due diligence in a situation like this? The way he described his job I feel like he has more than likely drove that much but he doesn't have the proof. Of course 25,000 miles comes up to a very large deduction. He is wanting me to amend prior years also.

After studying for my exam I feel like I have to be more diligent (so to speak) in getting this information from the customer. Should I leave it to them to provide the proof and have them sign off about no information provided on the deduction?
    Last edited by geekgirldany; 07-23-2008, 09:43 PM.

Due Dilligence with Mileage

Can he answer the questions on the 2106 regarding Vehicle Expenses:
    1. Do you have evidence to support your deduction?
    2. If "Yes", is the evidence written?

If he can't answer "Yes" to both questions, no deduction.

And as far as amended returns and this return and this being such a large number, I would ask for the written evidence!