military

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

military

i found in the tax book on pg 8-11 that for military members, their tax home is his/her permanent duty station.

my brothers lived here in mn before joining the military but both are now stationed in different states. last year to my understanding, they could file as residents of mn because mn did not consider military members non residents. but for 2005, can they still file as mn resident or would they have to file with the state that they are stationed in?

and for the one brother, he's married-stationed in ok but wife is here with house?

i am fairly new to filing for military so any help with that would be much appreciated.
    thanks

Residency status of military

Here is a link with a good explanation for MN residency rules for military.

Comment

Tax home does not necessarily equal residency/domicile.

My understanding of military is that they maintain their state of residency unless they do specific actions to change their residency. Some military people will try to change their residency to Texas, Florida, or another state that does not have income tax.

>> one brother, he's married-stationed in ok but wife is here with house?<<

This brother could then do a MFJ MN return.

There was also a law passed a couple years ago that OK, in this case, could not tax military personnel stationed in OK if they maintained their residence in another state.

Bill

Comment