Question about federal taxes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about federal taxes

This is my first time getting a job and I will be an independent contractor for a company. I have to fill out a W-9 form, then they will give me a 1099 form after I've made some earnings or something (that's the way I understand it). I've never filled out forms for taxes before, so how does this thing work? When I get my 1099 form, do I just take like 30% of the total money I have earned and pay it to the government or something? Should I just go to a place like H&R and have them do it for me?

Also, I just read about these quarterly estimate reports...how do I do those? There are so many forms to fill out it's confusing

Comment

You need a good tax adviser.