K-1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

K-1

I have a client that is a trustee of a grantor type revocable family trust. The clients father (the grantor) passed away last year and the only income of the trust was the sale of the fathers home. My question is- when is the basis of the home taken. From the creation of the trust, the date the father passed away, or when the father bought the home? The trust was created in 1994. The purpose of this is to create the K-1 for the trust.

Thank you,

Rog

I'm not an expert in trusts/estates

by any imagination of the word. Are there heirs? Did the heirs sell the house after he passed? If they did then the selling price of the house is the cost/MV and will be reported on the 1041 and distributed to the heirs on the K1. That will be the stepped-up value. Does this answer your question?

Comment

don't confuse

Originally posted by Selkirk View Post
      I have a client that is a trustee of a grantor type revocable family trust. The clients father (the grantor) passed away last year and the only income of the trust was the sale of the fathers home. My question is- when is the basis of the home taken. From the creation of the trust, the date the father passed away, or when the father bought the home? The trust was created in 1994. The purpose of this is to create the K-1 for the trust.

Thank you,

Rog
      a trust with an estate. My question first would be "was the house placed within the trust
      already?" Or was it not, and therefore an item of the estate?

Think about it.
      ChEAr$,
      Harlan Lunsford, EA n LA

Comment

Grantor Revocable Trust

At death of the grantor, the property (if placed within the Trust) or a pour over will was present, would pass to the Trust and stepped up basis of fair market value as of date of death, would be assigned.

Sandy

Comment

K-1