Rejections

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rejections

I had 2 rejections last week and both were for the a child being claimed on another tax return. In both instances I have been filing for these t/p for at least 10 years and never had a problem. None of the children work, not even 14 yet. I think that IRS is no longer checking dependents' name to SS# and any typo on someone elses return is tripping up the system....OR there is identity theft going on.....?????

Anyone else having this problem????
    This post is for discussion purposes only and should be verified with other sources before actual use.

Many times I post additional info on the post, Click on "message board" for updated content.

Not yet

However, I have had a problem on one client with "twins" for years, I always forget and efile and always receive the rejection, so we have to paper file. The rejection makes no sense, as I have copies of the Social Security Cards, and they are matching in this case to the parents. One parent (the spouse) uses her maiden name hyphenated the married surname.

The client has never been able to get it straightened out with SSA and IRS.

Possible on the identity theft as there is so much of that, but then also, the MASTER List could be wrong! So if your taxpayer status for married filing joint, etc hasn't changed and parents being separated is not an issue, you might suggest that the t/p contact Social Security to check on the records.

Do you have access to SSA to do the SSN check?

Sandy

Comment

Sandy> Welcome to the East Coast........

Since the return was rejected I proceeded to print a mail-in return with a small note to the IRS. At this point that is all I had time for. Once the issues is resolved, maybe after some correspondence, I will try to get to the bottom of this. Until then it is off my desk.

I have been filing their return with all the same SS#s for years, so what is different this year?