Reversion of Qualified Plan Assets to Employer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reversion of Qualified Plan Assets to Employer

Client called yesterday and said they had just received a large check from their pension plan administrator because they had closed out their pension plan. The corporation was sold a while back and they were wrapping everything up in 2007 and would file a final return this year. They faxed over a Form 5330 Return of Excise Taxes Related to Employee Benefits Plans showing the 50% excise tax due and some other paperwork.

I have no experience in something like this and of course I had no idea my client was planning this until the phone call. Client wants to know if there will be any additional tax on the distribution - I am having a hard time finding much information except for the 50% penalty which applies. I did find one article which seems to indicate the entire distribution will also have to be reported on the corporate tax return subject to income tax - but cannot find anything in the 1120 instructions about this.

Any help is appreciated.

Instructions for Form 5330 give a list of who must file the form.

Number 12 says:

12. Any employer who receives an
    employer reversion from a deferred
    compensation plan that is taxable under
    section 4980.

To read code section 4980, click on the link below:

Comment

Good grief

Why did they not roll their retirement over to an IRA?

Comment

I think but am not sure that in either 2005 or 2006 there was a tax law change or ERISA law change which allows for 401k's and the like to distribute a employees plan if the account balance is less than 5k. Usually the employee is provided with the paperwork and ample time to request a direct rollover. If they choose not to act then the plan administrator will distribute the money. This was passed I think in order to help employers cut down on administrative cost and fees of retirement plans.

Comment

Clarification