Is this tax deductible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this tax deductible?

I'm posting this here because I haven't an answer yet, without paying $30. So hopefully someone can help..

I'm a college student living in university owned housing. In late September I accidentally broke off a sprinkler head in a university owned apartment. Public safety came along with a gentlemen from the sprinkler company. He replaced the sprinkler head and reset the sprinkler system for the complex. The total for this, which I was responsible for, was $755.08.

I doubt it, but a friend put the idea in my head to ask. Is there any way this would be considered tax deductible or a write-off? I have a copy of the bill as well as my receipt of payment.

Thank you.

Dennis

Dennis, this seems to be a personal expense, and as such is not deductible.
    Dave, EA

Comment

I would agree with David. I don't see how this could be anything other than a personal expense, the same as if you had a plumber come to your home.

LT
      Only in government or politics is a "cut in spending" really an increase. It's just not as much of an increase as they wanted it to be, therefore a "cut".

Comment

Another Point

Why does the young man not have a personal casualty subject to the normal restrictions?

I realize that he may not have taxable income and probably does not itemize his deductions and can't get over the $100 and 10% of AGI thresholds. But it does seem to me that his accidental break of the sprinkler head would qualify.

Comment

Agree with erchess. It was sudden, unusual, and unexpected. Although he is not the owner of the property, he is ostensibly contractually liable.

Comment

Good luck on being able to itemize???????????

He will get no tax benefit............................
            This post is for discussion purposes only and should be verified with other sources before actual use.