Roth IRA Recharacterization

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Roth IRA Recharacterization

Just wondering if someone might give me a hand with something I’ve never done before. Client contributed $5k to Roth IRA January 2006. His income was over max so on October 13, 2007 he recharacterized to traditional IRA. Interest earned from Jan 2006 to Oct 2007 was $1,561 which was converted to IRA also. Do I just send in 8606 with $5k listed on line 1, 3 and 14 along with an explanation? Report the interest % when he retires and begins to withdrawal basis + taxable portion? Or do I wait until Trustee sends a 1099R for 2007 with the 2006 recharacterization?
    Any help would be appreciated very much. I’m really lost even though I’ve read Pub 590 and instructions for the 8606.
    Thanks much.

Maybe I'm thinking of something else, but off the top of my head, I believe the interest will be currently taxable. If it was rolled into another IRA that is non-deductible, then wouldn't it just be part of his/her basis?

Comment

Thanks for

the reply. Yes, I too think the interest will be taxable. But I think it will be on the 2007 return since that's when it was "received" and will be put on the 1040 line 15b. At that point then, the $5k + interest will be in the traditional IRA as 'after tax basis". At least that's what I'm doing for lack of a better understanding.
      Thanks again
      Larry

Comment

Disagree

The interest is not taxable as it never left either IRA. I would attach an explantion to the 2006 return and do an 8606. Then in 2007, if there is a 1099R do what you have to do to make the amount show on the a line for an IRA distribution and attach an explantion.

Comment

Kram, thank