When can we recognise the revenues?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When can we recognise the revenues?

We are a nonprofit housing organization. We have a loan servicing agreement with State of California in the amount of $3,000,000 in 2005, but we received this funds in 2006. We use this to loan to the low income homebuyers in the amount of $2,500,000 in 2007. The agreement indicates this is a grant, not a loan.

When can we recognise the revenues? How much can we recognize as revenues now?

Exempt Organization, from an accounting view, is a "Source and Application" of funds. So it is just shown as " Grants" on the appropiate income line when received. So I don't understand your question.

Let me end by saying I'm not an expert on exempt organization.
    This post is for discussion purposes only and should be verified with other sources before actual use.

Many times I post additional info on the post, Click on "message board" for updated content.

Comment

State government gave us the grant, then we use the grant as a loan to loan to low income homebuyers.

We will loan the rest of the money to the low income homebuyers by the end of the November.

Each year, our revenues are about $2,000,000 and expenses are also about $2,000,000 from 1998 to 2007. With all kind of "fake" grants, our revenues are 18,000,000 this year.
      Our Net Profit is about $15,500,000 this year, but our cash balance (operating) is about 3,000 by the end of November.

Should we file the chapter 13 (bankcrupcy) when we have $15.5 millon profit this year?
      Last edited by NPH; 10-17-2007, 10:48 PM.

Comment

Fake Grants?

NPH, you have obscured any hope of getting an answer (at least from me) with mention of these "fake" grants of $18MM. Did you get the money or not? If you received the money and it is now gone (such as a pass-through), then you could not possibly have $15MM profit.