My EA Exam

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My EA Exam

Thought I would start a thread on the progress of my EA Exam. Some might be interested

Today I took Part 1, Individuals for the second time and.... PASSED! Yeah!

I really studied hard for the exam after I failed the first time. Gleim is really excellent study materials. When I first tried taking it in June I had spent the whole month of May studying. I thought I was doing very well but found that I had really missed up when I sat for the exam. I concentrated more on the things I thought I did not know than looking at my Performance Results with Gleim. If I had went by that I would have seen the first time I did not do well with credits, IRA, some itemized deductions. I did do well on Estate Taxes and Gift Taxes. Something I knew nothing about until I started studying for the test.

It was quite a challenge to try and remember limits, phaseouts, percentages, and what is deductible. With the limits and phaseouts this time around I tried to remember people ages or something familar that would relate to the limitation. Like my friend is 45 so the Education Credit phases out at single $45,000. Things like that. It was extremely helpful this time around.

Another thing I did that I did not do before... .I took more time to study. Instead of taking a month I took 1 1/2 month to study. I studied as Gleim recommended (which I did the first time but something went wrong ) Seven days before the test I went back through each section I did not do well on the first time. I read the book and did the practice cd test. I also basically went back through the study book one more time highlighting sentences or phrases that directly related to questions.

I also did a sheet showing limits and phasesouts for credits and IRAs. I study this before the test... in the parking lot. The first thing I did when I sat down for the test was write all this information down. I had it memorized pretty good.