Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax Prep Fees

Hi
    I'm looking for a resourse to determine what other preparers are charging as a base fee and also additional fees. Just curious as to whether I am in the right ball park. I have over 10 years experience, am self-employed with a client base of about 300 and am an enrolled agent. I am not looking to gouge my clients like many CPA's do but would like to find what the acceptable average for tax prep is.
    taxea, Hawaii
    Believe nothing you have not personally researched and verified.

Fees

Originally posted by taxea
    Hi
    I'm looking for a resourse to determine what other preparers are charging as a base fee and also additional fees. Just curious as to whether I am in the right ball park. I have over 10 years experience, am self-employed with a client base of about 300 and am an enrolled agent. I am not looking to gouge my clients like many CPA's do but would like to find what the acceptable average for tax prep is.
    taxea, Hawaii
    The recently released Form 1040 instructions have average fees for individual and business returns. Interesting reading for sure. The IRS is really, really reaching with this latest effort to "educate" the public. Fees are very dependent on your local market, I know some EAs who have a minimum starting fee of $400. I couldn't charge that in my town, even though I know I'm worth it!!

You should evaluate your cost of doing business, how much your time is worth and arrive at a fee that represents your situation. Other tax offices will have very different expenses, living costs, etc. and fees will vary widely as a result. The only notice I take of others' fees is on prior year returns that new clients bring in when they first visit my office.

There is a Yahoo! tax group with some fee information discussed by some members might be some help to you: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TaxProExchange/