Studying TTB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Studying TTB

I am studying TheTaxBook as fast as possible. Some questions have come to mind and I just need to run this by someone. I suddenly got confused.

On page 4-10 it discusses the closing statement from a seller's point of view for payment of taxes. From the buyer's point of view if the buyer paid a specified amount for property, received a credit for taxes that he'll get a bill for later (the credit is for the prorated sellers part) and therefore hands over the purchase price plus closing costs minus these prorated taxes - Do I:

a. subtract this credit amount from the taxes that buyer will pay later (the way I've been doing) or
    b. reduce the purchase price?

Telephone credit question:
    In the information it seems to me that it means if someone had a phone with these kinds of taxes even just a !!couple of months!! in the time period of after 02/28/03 - 08/01/06 then they can take one line credit. Is that what you think?

Thanks,
    JG
    JG

Telephone credit question:
    In the information it seems to me that it means if someone had a phone with these kinds of taxes even just a !!couple of months!! in the time period of after 02/28/03 - 08/01/06 then they can take one line credit. Is that what you think?
    According to IRS TaxTalkToday—you get the full standard credit, as long as you paid long distance tax any month during the period—it didn’t matter how many months you paid.

Haven’t got my book yet, so wouldn’t comment on your first question.

Comment

Studying TTB

received a credit for taxes that he'll get a bill for later

I don't understand that. Usually, the buyer pays back to the seller the SELLER'S prepaid taxes and that's paid to the seller IN ADDITION to the property price.

What I do in that instance is add that to real estate taxes - it has nothing to do with purchase price.
      Uncle Sam, CPA, EA. ARA, NTPI Fellow

Comment