Cowardly CPA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cowardly CPA

This is not exactly a tax question but I thought, if I might, I would like to tap the brain trust here and get some advice.

Last year I got a church as a new review client. My engagement letter includes an approximate quote with a caveat that I would charge extra if significant time was necessary.

Of course, the quote turned out to be low (significantly) but I thought, for the sake of goodwill, if nothing else, I wouldn't charge for the overage that first year. Besides, I'm fairly new to doing churches so I figured some of that time was learning curve/lack of familiarity. This year, I'm half way through and I'm already over budget. I need to submit for a fee change but need to shore up my academy award acting skills so that I don't come off as wildly uncomfortable as I am.

Any of you have techniques that you use to talk yourself into not being uncomfortable about this stuff?

Any tips on how best to approach this would be greatly appreciated.

Question?

Was there increased activity this year over last year? If so, you should have no problem increasing your fee.

For what it is worth, I just bill extra when it is needed. I never ask a client if it is OK. "Wow, you really put me to work this year with all your activity, here's my actual bill based of time devoted this year."

In your case, you made the classic mistake last year by not mentioning nor charging "Something" extra, just to let them know your estimated fee is not locked in stone.

Watch your body langauge, you have to believe you earned every penny deep down in your soul. DON'T BE SHY about the bill. It is called "method acting", but I am never acting when I bill a client.
    This post is for discussion purposes only and should be verified with other sources before actual use.

Many times I post additional info on the post, Click on "message board" for updated content.

Comment

Originally posted by BOB W