OT: Intuit deplorable behavior

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OT: Intuit deplorable behavior

(I hope it's OK to provide real-life anecdotes of anti-consumer behavior by software vendors - after all, it's hardly like I'm the only one who has a dim view of Intuit, despite being a customer ever since they bought ChipSoft Turbotax software back in the 1980s)

I've been a Quickbooks Accountant desktop user for over 15 years, was a Certified Advanced Quickbooks ProAdvisor before they discontinued the program in its previously meaningful form (you had to pass an actually challenging exam to get that status). Used it to support many tax prep clients as well as for personal finances.

I was paying the annual license fee, and even held my nose and paid it in 2022 when it was bumped up to $500 after several previous annual price increases. But when they announced that in 2023 it would be a subscription-only model for desktop software, at $800/year, (60% price increase in one year, for a product that you can't use after one year unless you pay again!) I decided to stop, especially since I have deliberately shrunk my client base with regard to QB users.

They sent me an email in April reminding me of the upcoming annual subscription renewal. In that message, it stated:

"Your annual or monthly subscription or billing plan automatically renews for subsequent terms using the billing information we have on file at the time of your renewal, unless you cancel before the Billing date listed above. You can cancel your subscription at any time in your account"
    I did in fact log in and cancel my subscription, following the instruction. However, being savvy about how subscriptions work, I long ago started using "virtual" credit cards, such as those provided by privacy.com (which I recommend), or some bank cards such as CitiBank. Even before I canceled my subscription, I made sure the credit card they had on file was no longer valid.