Sale of units owned in limited partnership

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sale of units owned in limited partnership

Client sold some of the units he owned in a limited partnership (Enterprise Products Partners). The 1099-B doesn't give a basis but I have a Sales Worksheet provided by the partnership. It gives Sales Price (c. $20,000), purchase price (c. $12000) and Cumulative Adjustments to Basis (c. -12,500), giving a cost basis of c. -$500. How is that possible?! And...my software doesn't allow me to enter a negative cost basis.

What am I missing? I have limited experience with K-1s and limited partnerships so would appreciate any help from the experts out there.

Who is preparing the LLP Form 1065? They should have provided a K-1 for this partner showing the correct amounts in the appropriate boxes. It appears there is a net loss of $500. You need the K1 to correctly prepare the 1040. You may want to put the 1040 on extension. I have 2 clients that are suppose to receive K-1s from limited partnerships and as of Monday there were not available. Today I informed both of them that their 1040 will go on extension.
    Taxes after all are the dues that we pay for the privileges of membership in an organized society. - FDR

Comment

Exactly. The K-1 will include a grid for the sales, noting amounts that might appear on other forms, such as 4797, as well as help you compute adjusted basis. Form 1099-B will tell you little except for the sales proceeds.

Comment