Annuity Contract Cashed Out in Irrevocable Trust

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Annuity Contract Cashed Out in Irrevocable Trust

Client transferred an insurance annuity contract to his irrevocable trust many years ago. He originally purchased the annuity for lump sum payment of $40,000. In May 2018 the accumulation phase of the contract ended, and he and the trust administrator made the election to take out the value ($95,000) as a single payment with $15,000 of federal tax withheld. Since this asset was held in the trust, it appears the entire gain of $55,000 must be taxed to the trust at trust income tax rates and the $15,000 withholding applied to the trust tax. Client was wanting to have the “income” passed thru to him to be paid on his personal return and take the $15,000 tax payment against that income. The trustee stated that the proceeds were reinvested in an existing trustee brokerage account. I am not a trust expert, but I do not see any way to avoid paying the higher tax at the trust level. Comments?

Question: If they had not cashed out the annuity while it was in the trust, could they have pulled it back out of the trust to the taxpayer and then had him cash it out personally to get the tax result he was looking for?

I am concerned that there may be another annuity in the trust and we could be back in the same boat again.