fyi - don't make my mistake

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

fyi - don't make my mistake

Even though I’m 65, I’m still learning. Client (since 1998) left my home-office last evening in a bit of a snuff. The initial 1-1/2 hr appointment was to look over wife’s s/s income but client brought a 2 page list of assets for me to review. Told him I charge for this service and he said he knew that. Preparation of their 2007 and 2008 tax planning forecast took me a little over 1-1/2hrs which included an Excel spreadsheet. I also supplied a lot of info on home-office, Sched C deductions for what he intends to do now that he’s retired. Last night’s appointment was 2 hrs. They gathered all of the papers and started to leave. I told them I charge $125/hr but their bill is only $150 for my time. They started shooting some tiny barbs. She: “we better not continue to talk too much, since we are being billed for the time”; He: “Well, my consultation is free”. I then said sorry folks, but this is how I make my living.
    So, to avoid hurts, advise your clients ahead of time that you do charge, and also throw in some dollar ranges.

Fees

Larry,

Don't let these people get you down. When and if they walked into my office the next time, I would make certain their sarcastic remarks were not appreciated and would not be tolerated!

Consultations usually are free, but 2 hours of work are not and they know this. For them, I smell a price increase!

Dennis

Comment

Thanks DTS