h/w rental LLC questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

h/w rental LLC questions

I have a client currently residing in MD looking to buy a rental investment property in IN. I have a couple questions/verifying on understanding that I'd appreciate someone checking me on before I answer some of their questions.

They want to set up a LLC. Since neither state is a community property state, the default will be a partnership return, correct?

They will be getting the down payment from a HE loan on their primary residence. Because it would not be a debt of the LLC, should that interest be on Sch A?

I believe that banks charge a higher interest rate if an LLC but I'm not finding anything legitimate to confirm that belief.

If they want to convert the rental to primary residence in a few years what would be the tax treatment? IOW, if it's owned by an LLC would it be different than if they just personally owned it?

I'm not good with Partnerships, but I'll take a stab at things:

Yes, it would need to be on a 1065.

I would THINK it would be on Schedule A, and the loan amount would be a capital contribution to the Partnership. However, be aware the the Home Equity limit is $100,000.

If the bank loaned money to the LLC (which is not the case), it could be a higher interest rate because of the Limited Liability aspect (the LLC would file bankruptcy and the bank would be out of the money). However, in many (or most) cases, the bank also makes the LLC member liable for the loan, which would negate any reason for a higher interest rate. At any rate, the bank is not loaning to the LLC, so that should not matter.

I THINK the bottom line would be the same as if they had personally owned it. It would be more paperwork on the final LLC form for Partner distributions, but I THINK the bottom line would be the same.

Comment