Unfiled Gift Tax Return

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unfiled Gift Tax Return

I think we'v been over this before, but I just can't find it. Assume a couple with about $800K in assets gives $50K to an adult child. They have never made gifts exceeding the threshold in any prior years. They file an income tax return, but fail to file a gift tax return for the year. Unless current estate tax rules change, there will never be any estate tax issues. What are the potential consequences of failing to file the 709?
    Last edited by JohnH; 07-04-2014, 11:40 AM.
    "The only function of economic forecasting is to make astrology look respectful" - John Kenneth Galbraith

I am no expert on form 709 having filed only a handful. I believe the min. penalty is $100 for failure to file when no tax is due. In your example the excess will reduce the life time exclusion amount so no taxes are due currently but there is a requirement to file 709 if the gift exceeds the annual limit.

From a practical perspective many gifts overs the annual limit are made each year by parents to help their children buy their first home and I would guess in many cases no 709 is ever filed!
    Taxes after all are the dues that we pay for the privileges of membership in an organized society. - FDR

Comment

Thanks for the response. I often hear this $100 penalty mentioned for all sorts of unfilled returns, but I've never found anything to substantiate that. Do you know where this idea comes from or know of a cite?
      "The only function of economic forecasting is to make astrology look respectful" - John Kenneth Galbraith

Comment

See TTB Failure To File.

IRC 6651(a)(1) may apply according to TTB. I was trying to paste that chart but it does not work.
        Taxes after all are the dues that we pay for the privileges of membership in an organized society. - FDR

Comment

OK. Thanks
          I'll look that up.