Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on helping nonprofit formation and ongoing administration

Hello folks,

I am going to preface my paragraph with the notion that yes I understand that not being an attorney I have to be careful in advising / helping a potential client form and make sure that they are following the protocol of having a nonprofit. That said, though, I seek the forums comments on whether it is a good idea from a business / tax consultant standpoint to provide A to Z assistance in nonprofit guidance?

I have talked to fellow colleagues who say that getting involved in nonprofit consulting is not a good idea, and can have responsibility implications for me as an adviser from beginning to ongoing work. Can the forum please provide the "gotchas" or pros / cons of doing this work or advising? It would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

RFK

If I was interested in taking on non-profit organizations, I would seek out some good CPE and then spend time studying.

I used to do a few non-profits. I no longer do any work for non-profits.

The IRS is pursuing audits of non-profits and the penalties are significant that could put you out of business if you don't have the due dilligience.

Personally, I wouldn't do the work as most small town non-profits think that since they are a non-profit that you should do the work for free or at a reduced rate. You can't pay the bills like that. Been there, done that.
    Jiggers, EA

Comment