OT: Ethical Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OT: Ethical Question

I have a client that I have been preparing S-Corp and Individual returns for several years. His business closed down at the beginning of 2012. He is going through financial problems and he does not want to file the S-Corporation because of no money to pay me to complete it. He does want me to finish the personal return.

I told him I would have to double check on whether I can ethically do this because I know the situation. He said he would take his personal return somewhere else if I could not do it.

I believe that I can not ethically finish the personal return. I know there are items on the S-Corp that will affect the personal return. So I feel like I can not finish the personal return.

Am I correct in this?

I could offer to go ahead and prepare the S-Corporation. He has been a very good client over the years but I am not sure if I would ever be paid as he talks like he is in bad shape financially.

Thank you
    Dany

Depends

If you're a federally authorized tax practitioner, then Circular 230 applies:

§ 10.22 Diligence as to accuracy.
    (a) In general. A practitioner must exercise due diligence
    (1) In preparing or assisting in the preparation of, approving, and filing tax returns, documents, affidavits, and other papers relating to Internal Revenue Service matters;

§ 10.34 Standards with respect to tax returns and documents, affidavits and other papers.
    (a) Tax returns.
    (1) A practitioner may not willfully, recklessly, or through gross incompetence —
    (i) Sign a tax return or claim for refund that the practitioner knows or reasonably should know contains a position that —
    (C) Is a willful attempt by the practitioner to understate the liability for tax or a reckless or intentional disregard of rules or regulations by the practitioner as described in section 6694(b)(2) of the Code (including the related regulations and other published guidance).