HSA Account Part 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HSA Account Part 2

Burke's having the same fit I have been having 2 hours. I, unlike Burke, have all of the info I need to do the 8889. I have never done one before and thought a newly soon to be RTRP would have no problem. Wrong. It's driving me nuts and I guess I don't understand after all. Will some of you helpful people (ONLY) try to point me in the right direction?

Here's my dilemma: Contributions for 2011 $4000. Distributions for 2011 $3625. Client tells me this is a family plan. She's 55+. I input the data asked for and lo and behold she owes additional tax of $725. Also, the SW is requirig me to look at form 5329 for excess contributions (which can be withdrawn by April 17 with no consequences).

I thought a family plan would allow distributions of up to $11,950. What am I missing? Why the excess and why an additional tax of $725-two different consequences. HELP!

Thanks in advance.

Peachie

You can get only so much info from the forms. Make sure you've marked it Family and not Single in your software. Then, ask you clients how much they spent of qualified medical; hopefully it'll be $3625 or more. Then make sure you have the number of months they were covered by a HDHP. After you do all that, look at it on the form to see if some line(s) doesn't make sense.

Family contributions can be $6150 + $1000. Distributions can be whatever was spent on medical. High Deductible Health Plan is required. Let us know how the form looks now.

Comment

Originally posted by Peachie View Post
      Burke's having the same fit I have been having 2 hours. I, unlike Burke, have all of the info I need to do the 8889. I have never done one before and thought a newly soon to be RTRP would have no problem. Wrong. It's driving me nuts and I guess I don't understand after all. Will some of you helpful people (ONLY) try to point me in the right direction?