Reporting stock transactions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reporting stock transactions

This year, all the cost basis and the realized gains are reported on the 1099B and sent to the IRS by the financial institution, unless due to special situation that the financial institution does not have the cost basis information.

Suppose a taxpayer made thousands of trades in 2011 and the 1099B has all the cost basis information already, do we still have to enter all the transactions trade by trade on the Form 8949? Can we just enter the grand total from the 1099B? I am thinking the IRS already has the trade by trade information from the 1099B already.

Originally posted by NotEasy View Post
    This year, all the cost basis and the realized gains are reported on the 1099B and sent to the IRS by the financial institution, unless due to special situation that the financial institution does not have the cost basis information.

Suppose a taxpayer made thousands of trades in 2011 and the 1099B has all the cost basis information already, do we still have to enter all the transactions trade by trade on the Form 8949? Can we just enter the grand total from the 1099B? I am thinking the IRS already has the trade by trade information from the 1099B already.
    If the statement contains the data required by the 8949, then yes, send it with an 8453. However, if it doesn't - and it won't in many cases - you can't.

Comment

1099b

I would concider entering the bottom line on all short and long term trades....enter the lump sums...package up all 1099-B's and mail with the tax return.
      Confucius say:
      He who sits on tack is better off.

Comment

Originally posted by Gary2 View Post
        If the statement contains the data required by the 8949, then yes, send it with an 8453. However, if it doesn't - and it won't in many cases - you can't.