White Oleander

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

White Oleander

New thread because original thread has several responses, and I wanted to respond to you directly. I am aware you work for HRB, and I also believe you bring a high level of expertise to the board. I want to more fully explain why I'm concerned about storefronts being held to the same standards, lest anyone think my purpose was Block-bashing.

Where I'm headed with my comments is the IRS is a typical govt agency with zealous bureaucrats anxious to earn a gold star. It's no secret that the overwhelming criteria for raises and promotions is how much revenue an agent can bring in. Small service providers are an easier target to push around than larger, well-heeled companies.

I have a long background in various arenas of accounting. I worked as a staff accountant for a large Fortune 500 company who was audited for expense items which realistically should have been capitalized. When the auditor proposed adjustments to our Comptroller, he was told "our lawyers will be in touch..." and we never saw the auditor again. This response was 180 degrees different with audits of smaller companies trying to fight IRS positions that were frankly quite ridiculous. In most cases, the small companies had to cough up money.

I can relate a number of examples of bank auditors auditing small banks. While they make life miserable for small bankers, their shadow is never seen on the doorstep of Bank of America, Citibank, Chase, etc.

I am impressed to know that HRB is having the due diligence with the EIC crowd, because I was appalled to see how these people bring their ridiculous cases to the storefront. And I appreciate your responses and the level of diligence you do.