Forms 8878 and 4868

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Forms 8878 and 4868

This is my first year e-filing extensions and I'm unsure about whether the client has to file Form 8878 before I can e-file the Form 4868.

I read the instructions and it would appear to me that if there is no payment with extension Form 4868 then no 8878 needs to be signed by the client(s).

Is that correct?

Originally posted by ttbtaxes View Post
    This is my first year e-filing extensions and I'm unsure about whether the client has to file Form 8878 before I can e-file the Form 4868.

I read the instructions and it would appear to me that if there is no payment with extension Form 4868 then no 8878 needs to be signed by the client(s).

Is that correct?
    You can e-file the 4868 and if there is payment you print a voucher for the client to mail in with the payment. The client does not sign the 4868. There is no need for the 8878 - it is only for electronic withdrawals.
    Last edited by Larmil; 03-07-2011, 09:26 AM.

Comment

Wow. I'm surprised. There are so many rules about e-filing the Form 1040.

So we can just email an extension without any client authorization?

Comment

Originally posted by ttbtaxes View Post
        Wow. I'm surprised. There are so many rules about e-filing the Form 1040.

So we can just email an extension without any client authorization?
        Personally I get the client's authorization, but sometimes it is verbal.

Comment

ttb taxes

I hope you meant "efile" and not "email". I am sure you did.

I have clients that forget to call me and tell me to file their extensions. Usually I will send extensions for clients I haven't heard from yet on 4/14.

If they have filed themselves or gone somewhere else the extension is ignored. But at least they are safe. But no money is paid.

Linda, EA

Comment

I use 8878 for all extensions

I have used the 8878 on many occasions for clients, including those who needed to pay with their extension.