Extension and e-filing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extension and e-filing

This is my first year e-filing. I don't know what to expect and am trying to plan ahead for those clients who routinely have me file extensions for them on April 15.

Do I need to report exactly how much tax was withheld and/or paid through estimates which I e-file the estimate? If the amount I use doesn't agree with the IRS records will they reject the extension?

Any help would be appreciated.

Originally posted by wiiawiwb View Post
    This is my first year e-filing. I don't know what to expect and am trying to plan ahead for those clients who routinely have me file extensions for them on April 15.

Do I need to report exactly how much tax was withheld and/or paid through estimates which I e-file the estimate? If the amount I use doesn't agree with the IRS records will they reject the extension?

Any help would be appreciated.
    It is not necessary to wait until the last minute to file - although many do. Compute or estimate the tax liability and show any payments - just fill in the appropriate blanks on the 4868. It will not be rejected if filed properly.

Comment

There have been times, when I have not even started their tax return, that I have to ask them, what they think ( higher income than last year, or lower). Then I ask them how much they have to send in. That then is the only figure I put on the extension form. Never had a problem with IRS. I warn the client it may not be enough and they could owe a penalty also. I also put it in my notes what i said to them. I have also worked up a form to give clients, with information on it about extensions, that includes that "an extension is an extension of time to FILE a return NOT AN EXTENSION TO PAY.

Comment

§1.6081-4

(b) Requirements. To satisfy this paragraph (b), an individual must—