Fraud

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fraud

Have client that divorced but got back together before end of year. They did not remarry but have joint checking account and own home jointly. Had baby but lost SS card. So I prepared returned MFJ and waited for them to get new SS card. After 4 weeks I called to see if they received it yet. They said, oh I forgot to call you. We was over at a friends house and they have Turbo tax. Since we did not remarry we filled separately. One HOH and one S. So this gives one of them EIC and bigger refund. I have been doing taxes for 20 years and nothing has made me more angry than this. They have already paid me and I will not refund their payment.
    Does anyone know how to report this to IRS?

Thanks, Lucy

Originally posted by Lucy
    Have client that divorced but got back together before end of year. They did not remarry but have joint checking account and own home jointly. Had baby but lost SS card. So I prepared returned MFJ and waited for them to get new SS card. After 4 weeks I called to see if they received it yet. They said, oh I forgot to call you. We was over at a friends house and they have Turbo tax. Since we did not remarry we filled separately. One HOH and one S. So this gives one of them EIC and bigger refund. I have been doing taxes for 20 years and nothing has made me more angry than this. They have already paid me and I will not refund their payment.

Thanks, Lucy
    Why would you file them as MFJ if they were divorced?

Comment

I don't blame you for being angry. I don't think we are talking fraud here. Was the intention of the divorce for tax avoidance? It doesn't sound like it. In my state in order to pepare a return for any type of compensation you must be licensed. I'd love to turn in as many tailgaters as possible.

Comment