Trusts & Estates

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trusts & Estates

I am new to preparing Trusts and Estates. I learned some from studying and passing the EA exam but after tax season I need to spend more time learning about this area of the tax law.

I have a client that setup an Irreovcable Trust and put her daughter as the Trustee. The assets in the trust are a home that the mom owns and is paying mortgage interest on some oil and mineral rights and some savings interest. For 2009 the trust earned about 290 of interest income.

My question is do I have to file a trust return for 2009 if only 290 of interest income. I am assuming no need to file. Also the trust does not indicate if it is simple or complex. How do I know that. The trust did not distribute anything in 2009 nor is it required to. Should I assume this is a complex trust? Can it be a grantor trust? And what happens with the mortgage interest? Does the mom continue to write off on her personal return or does it go on the trust since the property is owned by the trust now?

Another client's parent's passed away and the home remains in the trust name. It was also irrevocable before death. The house is worth only about 250,000. I know an estate return does not need to be filed. But for 2009 they rented out two of the three rooms. The parent's son lives in one of the rooms. The renters have full access to the whole house. Can the trust write off 75% of the home since two of the three rooms and the rest of the home is being rented out? And would this also be a complex trust. The trust is going to end up with a loss and having nothing to distribute. And the trust received a 1099-R for a death benefit distrubtion in the trust tax id number. Where does that go on form 1041 under other income? I could not find a place for it.

Thanks!
    GTS1101

Some explanations....

I am by no means an expert when it comes to trusts, but I will share with you what I know.