Making sure a return is not missed...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Making sure a return is not missed...

I was wondering how everyone keeps tab of work in and work out and perhaps work that should be in but is not.

For example: I'm a TX CPA and Monday is the extended due date for TX Franchise Tax Returns. These returns are filed by LLC's, partnerships and corporations so in my tax return program manager I don't see a list of these -I just see returns for the 1065, 1040 and 1120's.

So I'm combing my client list for LLC's and Inc's thinking there must be a better way...

I'm thinking perhaps I need a master list of all 1040's, 1065's, 1120's, st returns, payroll returns etc. As each deadline passes I always wonder "Have I forgotten anyone?"

How do you prevent forgotten returns in your office?

Carolyn

I keep a WIP list daily.

Every day I mark all appts. first thing in the morning, check in any mailed in returns before organizing them for processing, and before I put postage on any outgoing mail, enter into the spreadsheet. I also keep separate file drawers for those returns which are waiting for 8879s and those which have been filed, but not yet accepted. Each morning, I check for and acks and then move the file into an A/R drawer if necessary or completed. If anyone wants a copy of my excel file, please let me know.
    Sandy >^..^<

Comment

Excel File

I would like your excel file. That sounds handy.

Comment

Originally posted by erchess View Post
        I would like your excel file. That sounds handy.
        We use a great product from the TValue people to track our work in our office. The software is called File in Time. You can get a demo of the software off their website, which is timevlaue.com. We do accounting, bookkeeping, etc. in addition to taxes so this software has been a godsend. It took a bit of set-up but after that it runs very simply and smoothly.

Maribeth

Comment