1120 S? What should I charge?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1120 S? What should I charge?

I've never done an 1120S before, I think I'll have a couple soon as I just took on a new bookkeeping client that's an S Corp. I'm a certified bookkeeper with the AIPB and I'm currently taking a course on 1120S preperation, I know my learning curve will be huge but I have no idea what to charge. I have done a 1065 with Schedules L and M and the 1120S appears very similar. Should my charge be the same as for the 1065?

If anyone gives me an amount they charge, please tell me what you charge for a regular return--no extra schedules or forms---state and federal, and specify paper or e-file please so I can see how my rates compare to yours in my calculation.

Thanks so much!!!!!!

I tend to charge a little more for a 1065 than for a 1120S. Same if they are very simple. Partnership law is more complicated than corporation law as far as real small biz is concerned.

Comment

Supermom, I guess it really depends on where you are located, and what the market will allow you to charge. Here in CA, my minimum fee for the simplest, most straight forward 1065, 1120, 1120-S, 1041 is $700. It goes up from there. I've charged as much as $12,500 for an 1120-S. A CPA friend of mine who practices in the Newport Beach area told me his firm charges a minimum of $700 or 1% of the client's gross revenue, whichever is greater.
      Dave, EA

Comment

Pricing

A very small S-Corp does not require a balance sheet, so it could take less than 30 minutes to do it. A larger job could take several days, but some have a set of books with almost every account like the accounts on the tax return so they too could be done quickly.

If there are hundreds of items to depreciate and several K-1s, etc., then the time could be extensive. The best way to judge is by the time it takes. If you charge around $ 100 per hour, then your fee might vary from $ 100 to $5000.

Comment