Rental Income, LLC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rental Income, LLC

Client bought rental property. Went several months without it being rented. He wrote down the amount they would have received in rental payments if the property was rented. He wants me to deduct this. It is to my understanding that you can only deduct expenses that were paid while the property was listed for rental...correct? Utilities, mortgage interest, repairs, etc.

He says that 3 people told him he could deduct it and that he knows it can be deducted. I just want to be sure. He is insisting to deduct it. But I have never done this with a rental before or had someone ask me to do it.

Also he formed a LLC for this property. Since this is a passive activity it is listed on Schedule E correct? He said his wife and children are part of the LLC. But I assume it will still be correct to list as Schedule E.

Okay little Edit here just found my answer in Pub 527 under uncollected rent.

Comment

Yea right

Ask him how many returns these 3 morons do every year. Boy, if I worked that week of December that I was on vacation I would have made about $10,000 can I deduct that?

As far as the 2nd part he and his wife can put their share on their Schedule E and the daughter will report her share on her Schedule E.

Matt
      I would put a favorite quote in here, but it would get me banned from the board.

Comment

I asked him if they had someone prepare their taxes or did they prepare it. You know I don't mind telling a person I will research to make sure but when they insist it is correct... that irks me.

Just got off the phone with him and read exactly what it said from the IRS pub. He said he was still going to call them to make sure. I told him I would not deduct it. He didn't say anything but I will probably have to show him the IRS Pub before he will believe me.