EA Exam & Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EA Exam & Questions

I am currently studying to become an EA. I have passed Part 1 in the summer and I am currently studying for Part 3 using the Gleim EA review course which was recommend by someone on this tax board.

I have two questions relating to practicing before the IRS and I hope one of the experienced EA's on this tax board can answer my questions.

The first is under the scope of authority [26 CFR 601.504(a)] it says that a power of attorney is a written authorization for an individual to act on behalf of an individual in tax matters. It goes on to say that a representative can do all of the following:

1. Represent the taxpayer before any office of the IRS. However, a representative cannot advocate the taxpayer's position with respect to the federal tax laws. What exactly does this mean? Does this mean I cannot stand up to the IRS regarding the tax law on a position taken on a tax return? Does this mean I cannot defend the position that I have taken for returns I have prepared. I am confused. I thought one of the purposes of the EA was to represent your client and stand up to the IRS to defend a client and say this is the law from the tax code and this is why I prepared the return the way I did. From reading the statement above it seems as if I won't be able to do that? Am I understanding it incorrectly?