Bidding on a job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bidding on a job

I am a CPA and am going to meet with someone to bid on a job. This fellow has an S Corp which has 'dealings' in multiple states. It appears as though he would have employees in multiple states.

Although i've worked in the field I don't have many clients of my own.

What concerns me is the fact that he uses Microsoft Money for his S Corp. And he has payroll which appears to be multistate.

I work out of my apartment and have often had trouble bidding on jobs. It could be that i'll just ask for the same $ that his present accountant is getting. But if not i'd like to have some kind of idea of pricing.

1) How easy is it to do Corporate Accounting on Microsoft Money? (I would of course prefer that he switch to quickbooks)

2) What should i be concerned with when considering the amount of time i'll need to account for payroll?

I'm not sure how to approach this. any advice would be welcome

thanks
    Last edited by Skate1968; 11-03-2008, 09:22 AM. Reason: to add

Bidding on a job is one of the worst posistion to be in. You need to have a complete knowledge of what will be required of you, and I mean every detail. Why are they looking for a new accountant? Starting at a fee of the existing accountant can be a good start but you must leave the door open for increases in fees. How many accountants have they had in the past? Multi-states are very time intense. Developing a correct chart of accounts with sub catagories can get involved, is this already setup? Are there separate Corporations for each State?

Since they are using their books, it will require you to do most work at their premises within their office hours. Having a copy of they program would be helpful. What is the knowledge level of in-house bookkeeping staff? If poor, you will be putting out fires all the time.

I could go on but you get the drift..
    Last edited by BOB W; 11-03-2008, 11:45 AM.