Filing 4868 extension with DRAKE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Filing 4868 extension with DRAKE

Question for Drake users. Is that right that Drake will not let you Efile a 4868 Federal extension until all the Messages (critical diagnostics) are cleared? I'm new to Drake and this is what they are telling me.

Post Deleted
    Last edited by thomtax; 04-04-2013, 04:12 PM.
    Only in government or politics is a "cut in spending" really an increase. It's just not as much of an increase as they wanted it to be, therefore a "cut".

Comment

Originally posted by John of PA View Post
      Question for Drake users. Is that right that Drake will not let you Efile a 4868 Federal extension until all the Messages (critical diagnostics) are cleared? I'm new to Drake and this is what they are telling me.
      I think you need to eliminate ETD_MSG types. I shared this with a few people last year. It is New York specific, but probably applies similarly to other states:

When you are ready to e-file the Federal and NY state extension, do the following:
      1. In the 4868 screen, put an "X" in the "4868" box.
      2. In the NY 370 screen, put a "Y" in the "Generate Form IT-370" box.
      3. In the EF Screen, Put an "X" in the "Ready for EF" box, check "4868" and "Do NOT send any states"
      4. View the return looking for ETD_MSG problems.
      5. When ther are no ETD_MSG problems, exit the return and go to the "EF" Menu option and choose the "Select Returns for EF" option and select the return with the "4868" and click the "Continue" button.
      6. Open the return again and go to the EF Screen.
      7. Check the "Do NOT send Federal" button, make sure that "NY EXT" is selected under "Select other states/cities to e-file:" and un-check the "Do NOT send any states"
      8. View the return looking for ETD_MSG problems (there should not be any at this point) or New York Error messages (yes, these will also matter).