form 3115

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

form 3115

I am doing the form 3115 as advised on a prior string. I have never done one before and appreciate any help I can get.

In filling it out, it is pretty simple and straight forward. Do I simply send the form in with the 8453 for the electronically filed return?

My clients lived in the house before they rented it out. They purchased it for 106,000 in 1998 and lived in it for only 2 years before converting to rental in 2000.

Basis is 100,837.
    Includes land 35,000.

I'll include closing expenses into the basis for the 4797, but not when I calculate depreciation allowed. The depreciation allowed is very easy for me to figure out.

What I do not know is this: Where does the "depreciation not taken in prior years" go on the 4797???

Thanks!
    "I am proud to pay taxes in the United States. The only thing is I could be just as proud for half the money." Arthur Godfrey

I'm gonna answer this one off the cuff. Someone else on the board will pop me if I'm wrong...

It goes in Column E, Depreciation allowed or allowable since acquisition. The operative word is "allowable." In this context, "allowable" means "allowable but not taken."

I don't think I've ever met anyone who has attempted to deal with this particular problem...

Burton

koss@usakoss.net

Comment

misunderstood?

Maybe I wasn't clear in my question.

I know that the depreciation allowable is taken in column e.

The point of doing the 3115 is to be able to take the depreciation that was not taken in prior years. (To soften the blow of capital gains in the year of the sale.)

Just exactly how is that done? The 3115 gives me "permission" to change accounting methods and utilize the "un-taken" depreciation, but how do I do that?
      "I am proud to pay taxes in the United States. The only thing is I could be just as proud for half the money." Arthur Godfrey

Comment