Paying Kids to Work for Dad

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Paying Kids to Work for Dad

I am a home construction general contractor. I have two teenagers that I would like to hire to do work for me. I hear there are some tax breaks for hiring one's own children. How much can I pay them before they have to pay tax on the earnings?

Hiring Kids

The bad news first.

If you hire your kids, (1) they actually have to do the work, (2) you actually have to pay them and keep records, file payroll reports, etc., and (3) you can't pay them more than what could be considered reasonable.

Now the good news. There are some serious tax breaks for parents who hire their kids.

There are three main items that provide a tax benefit for paying wages to children.

(1) Payroll tax exemptions. A child employed by the parents in an unicorporated business is not subject to FICA (SS & Medicare) if under age 18. That's a savings of 15% right off the bat.

(2) Child's standard deduction. A child is eligible for a standard deduction of $5,000 if all the income is from wages. There's no exemption for the dependent, but the standard deduction is still available.

(3) Retirement plan deduction. This can increase the amount a child can earn and not be subject to tax.