Ethics Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ethics Question

I'm an Enrolled Agent and prepare tax returns, do financials, etc. as an employee of a corporation that I am half owner of.

I am also a part-time employee at a non-profit where I do bookkeeping on QuickBooks. The Secretary-Treasurer has asked that I help her prepare their 990 but not sign as a preparer. My question is: Can I do this and not be subject to any liability because I am doing this as an employee of a firm? Or am I subject to the same rules as if someone prepared an incorrect return based on information I provided them?

Originally posted by momona View Post
    I'm an Enrolled Agent and prepare tax returns, do financials, etc. as an employee of a corporation that I am half owner of.

I am also a part-time employee at a non-profit where I do bookkeeping on QuickBooks. The Secretary-Treasurer has asked that I help her prepare their 990 but not sign as a preparer. My question is: Can I do this and not be subject to any liability because I am doing this as an employee of a firm? Or am I subject to the same rules as if someone prepared an incorrect return based on information I provided them?
    If you are preparing the form as an employee rather than a 3rd party preparer, you do not need to sign the form. As far as liability, I think that would be between you and the employer if there was a problem. Obviously, it would be unethical to put information on the form that you know is incorrect whether you sign the return or not.

Comment

odd request

Originally posted by momona View Post
      I'm an Enrolled Agent [...]

I am also a part-time employee at a non-profit where I do bookkeeping on QuickBooks. The Secretary-Treasurer has asked that I help her prepare their 990 but not sign as a preparer. My question is: [...]