Where was the word "Controller" born?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where was the word "Controller" born?

I am a scientist. I am starting to enjoy chatting accounting and finance. My friend's job title is "Controller". What does it mean?

The word was born in consolidation? When parent "controls" the subsidiary, it needs to consolidate their financial statements. The one who is responsible for both books, we called him "controller"?

How to define the word 'controller"?

What field of science if we may ask?

Comment

Seismology

Comment

Controller

Controller is an extremely old word. Polite people say it derives from a Latin root meaning "to count." Others say "troll" is Germanic for the monster lurking just out of sight and related to "trollop" who is a person who will do it anyway you want if the price is right.

Comment

Originally posted by jainen
          Controller is an extremely old word. Polite people say it derives from a Latin root meaning "to count." Others say "troll" is Germanic for the monster lurking just out of sight and related to "trollop" who is a person who will do it anyway you want if the price is right.
          How about the job title controller.

Comment

the devil is in the machine

>>the job title controller<<

I'm sure that, like all financial schemes, the job existed for some time before the words were invented to describe it. I do know that "comptroller" is a fairly recent variation in spelling, properly pronounced the same way.

As a seismologist you are perhaps distracted by the application of the term to mechanical devices, but it's the same word with the same history--either a high speech derivative of the Arab/Roman obsession with calibrating things, or the common understanding that the devil is in the machine.

Comment

Originally posted by Ballscientist

My wife.