Rental property - expenses vs capitalization

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rental property - expenses vs capitalization

This is a piece of rental property.....a mobile home that was inherited. Renter destroyed inside of mobile home. She had dogs that she didn't take outside. Taxpayer had to do extensive repairs to mobile home before he could put another renter in there.
    He has given me a stack of Home Depot and Lowe's receipts for the work he did. He did the work himself so this is just the supplies. It is hard for me to determine what some of the receipts are for since I am not an expert on home repairs. I do know that he laid new flooring, replaced bathroom fixtures, had to replace some of the drywall and a host of small things like new handles on cabinets. Many times he went into HD and bought stuff for several different projects on one ticket.
    How would you handle this? He was not making it new. He was restoring to former condition and making it usable again.
    These new regs are very confusing. Partially because a business and rental property are different situations.

Thanks

Linda EA

>> He has given me a stack of Home Depot and Lowe's receipts for the work he did.

This is a red flag in my opinion. I would throw the receipts back at him and have it organized for what repair/replacement they pertain to and document the nature and scope of work. These HD and Lowes receipts generally have multiple items and the description does not tell you anything except that the receipt holder purchased those items.

Many years back I learned from an audit experience that if you neglect that it will come to bite you. Your client will throw you under the bus because his position will be i gave you all the receipts you should have filed it correctly!

Having said all this if the interior was basically gutted and totally replaced I would capitalize it.