Reporting K-1 (1041) Trust Income on 1040

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reporting K-1 (1041) Trust Income on 1040

Ok, I'm a bit confused here as I'm not a trust expert. I'm doing an individual regular 1040 return where my client gets a K-1 (Form 1041) which shows $55K of rental real estate income. I currently have it flowing to the 1040, perhaps incorrectly. This is a new client who does not have a copy of their prior year return. So, I was able to get the IRS transcript and reviewed the presentation. For 2012, they show in the K-1 income of $69K and then they show offset of ($69K) under Rent/Royalty Income for a net of $0. Do I need to show the inflow and then offset? If so where and how? Thanks in advance for your help.

Brian
    "The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax" - Albert Einstein

What to report & where??

Ok, I'm officially way confused on this one. I understand that who is liable for the tax on the earned income of the trust is the one who receives or retains benefits. So, in this case, the trust had rental income of $55K. However, to my knowledge, there is nothing on the K-1 indicating how much cash was actually distributed. I did look at a register from the Form 1041 prep which shows a distribution of $20K in Jan. 2104. So, it would seem that the $55K needs to flow in and then out of the Form 1040 (both on Sch E??) and that is the only disclosures needed, right? Then, the $20K which was an actual distribution is taxed to the beneficiary/taxpayer, again on Sch E? Any insight appreciated. Much thanks.
    "The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax" - Albert Einstein

Comment

K-1 are usually the net of all transaction in the trust. Where is the off set coming from? The $20,000 is just a basis adjustment and should not be tax separately. More than likely it is a distribution to cover any taxes on the taxable income, in this case the $55,000.