IRA One-Rollover-Per-Year Rule

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IRA One-Rollover-Per-Year Rule

I have a financial planning client who dropped into my office to review his current investments and upcoming college funding needs. I did not prepare his returns (H&R Block did). The client is age 52 and his wife is 54. They have several IRAs (Roth, traditional) and non-IRA accounts that are all invested in various annuities (variable and fixed ... no, I did not sell them to him). He is a very conservative investor and an engineer by profession. Two years ago when the twin daughters were age 13, his annuity representative completed paperwork for him to begin annuitizing three of his accounts: two IRA accounts and one non-IRA account.

The reasoning offered by the client was that he was told this was a way to fund college for the girls. (My guess is that the rep didn't want to 'lock up' the money in another annuity via a 1035 exchange which might start the whole 7- or 10-year surrender charge schedule and then the cash wouldn't be available so readily for college. That ignores the fact that most contracts allow a withdrawal of 10% without annuitizing).

All three accounts are paying out on a 10-year period certain basis (so they'll be down to zero when he's age 60).

On his 2013 tax return he showed line 15b total of $16,600 (for the IRA distributions) and line 16a for $13,00 and line 16b for $8,100 (taxable portion).

He presently does not need the extra cash (didn't need it either when they started this two years ago). His college financial aid base year is a couple of years away but this extra income will not be helping them out at that time either. Add to that the extra tax hit now, and he's not a happy camper.