TaxAct Transfer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TaxAct Transfer

I have used TaxAct for several years on my Windows XP. I want to transfer everything to a new Windows 7. How can I transfer the program with all my data info (preparer's info and clients) to the new computer? I downloaded the yearly programs from TaxAct for each year but of course the data info is not there. I do have the clients returns in other folders already on the Windows 7. I am sure there is a simple way, but I am no computer expert. Thanks for your help!

Ask TaxAct.

Comment

Files for TaxACT

Originally posted by ruthc View Post
      I have used TaxAct for several years on my Windows XP. I want to transfer everything to a new Windows 7. How can I transfer the program with all my data info (preparer's info and clients) to the new computer? I downloaded the yearly programs from TaxAct for each year but of course the data info is not there. I do have the clients returns in other folders already on the Windows 7. I am sure there is a simple way, but I am no computer expert. Thanks for your help!
      You will need to find the subdirectories containing the client data files and then copy those to your new computer.

The default location should be:
      C:\TaxACT\TaxAct 2013 Preparer's Edition\Client Data\John Doe's 2013 Tax Return.ta3

You can also find the relevant information when you click on the "Client Manager" screen for each relevant tax year.

( IIRC, the file extension indicates the year, such as .ta3 = 2013 , .ta2 = 2012 , etc. )

To simplify things, you might first want to create/save a "new" client file for each year, and then see exactly where that file got saved using Client Manager.

FE

Comment

I did the same thing last year, and my tax prep software company (not Tax Act) had very clear and easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions, right on its web site, for doing the migration. Yours may, also.
        Roland Slugg
        "I do what I can."

Comment

Lion