Ideas for working during retirement?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ideas for working during retirement?

I'm looking at my retirement years down the line and the wife and I want to travel a lot = move a lot. I might want temporary or part time work in cities or foreign countries to cover some expenses. Since I'm self employed, I'd be looking at being hired for the first time in MANY years. This is all a way off so I've got tons of time.

Other than the EA which I already have, is there a certificate in this area that directly leads to employment? So many are nothing more than certificates you hang on the wall and lead to nothing further.

Is the NTPI Fellowship something that employers look at as a real accomplishment? How about ASTPS which might include their advanced seminar? I'm guessing the NTPI Fellow would be better but I have no knowledge that leads to that.

Maybe there is something completely different? I got the EA on a whim because a lawyer said it would be beneficial for me - wow was that true.

Become a QuickBooks advisor and learn some Spanish. You could pickup up some free lance work that way I would think.
    In other words, a democratic government is the only one in which those who vote for a tax can escape the obligation to pay it.
    Alexis de Tocqueville

Comment

Originally posted by DaveO View Post
      Become a QuickBooks advisor and learn some Spanish. You could pickup up some free lance work that way I would think.
      So far I've had zero luck learning a foreign language. Spanish should be given another try.
      It just seems all these certificates are essentially worthless except my EA. I can't do the CPA as in my state you have to do auditing for 2 years full time to get the actual certification. I considered maybe doing a foreign tax certification and moving to London, Frankfurt or someplace else for 6 months of the year? Wife would be very open to that idea.

Comment