Weird call today

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weird call today

I get this call from my ad I run in one of the two church bulletins. The guy started off sort of arrogant asking me questons like if I am a CPA, if I ever prepared tax return for a sole proprietor, how long I been a tax preparer etc. I told him I was an enrolled Agent and I have been a sole proprietor for years and I prepare quite a few sole proprietor tax returns including my own. Then he started a discussion that he does not want his tax return looked at by the IRS like the IRS is going after conservatives. I replied by asking if he kept track of his exps etc. and if he had quite a few miles. He didn't answer my first question and said he had quite a few miles. I asked if he logged his miles and he said no. Then he said something to the effect that "Obama was my boss" and I replied he is not my boss and he replied "your in taxes" and I replied "I work for the taxpayer". I got his email address and I am suppose to send him my tax organizer but I am 2nd thinking this guy about no supporting documents on his mileage and his reply which gave me the impression "I dont and I dont care, come get me IRS".

Your thoughts?

Why would you want a client like that? Your time is more precious than to waste it like that. Ten seconds would be all the time I would spend talking to him.

Comment

My stock response for these types is "My job is to assist clients in the preparation of a return that results in an optimum result that complies with the tax code, if it is not your intention to comply with the tax laws you don't need my help".
      In other words, a democratic government is the only one in which those who vote for a tax can escape the obligation to pay it.
      Alexis de Tocqueville

Comment

I think the client is onto something about the IRS going after conservatives.
        If your return is selected for audit, everybody turns into a conservative.