Education Credits and 1098T

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Education Credits and 1098T

I noticed the other post regarding 1098t. This is my first time for trying to use the Education Credit. I have an 18 year old student that has W-2 wages of 5700. She received a 1098t which has 4736 in box 1 and 8684 in box 5. I am doing both hers and parents returns. She lives on campus. She wants to claim herself on her return. I ask the parents were there any qualified expenses that any of them paid. The answer was no. Just the 1098t. Would I be correct that unless they paid something out of pocket or there are some loans that paid qualified expenses there would be no reason to put anything on the tax return. In other words would they need to report the information on the 1098t on the tax return if no expenses were paid out of pocket. Say if they come up with 4000 in loans then would I need to include the 1098t information.

Originally posted by photoman View Post
    I noticed the other post regarding 1098t. This is my first time for trying to use the Education Credit. I have an 18 year old student that has W-2 wages of 5700. She received a 1098t which has 4736 in box 1 and 8684 in box 5. I am doing both hers and parents returns. She lives on campus. She wants to claim herself on her return. I ask the parents were there any qualified expenses that any of them paid. The answer was no. Just the 1098t. Would I be correct that unless they paid something out of pocket or there are some loans that paid qualified expenses there would be no reason to put anything on the tax return. In other words would they need to report the information on the 1098t on the tax return if no expenses were paid out of pocket. Say if they come up with 4000 in loans then would I need to include the 1098t information.