Subpoena issued to preparer to produce tax return copies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Subpoena issued to preparer to produce tax return copies

I've been doing taxes for almost thirty years. For the first time, my office received a subpoena to produce copies of a client's tax returns. The subpoena was issued by an attorney representing the client's ex-spouse. The case is a straightforward matter. The ex-spouse is seeking a reduction in child support or alimony payments. The subpoena seeks copies of the last four years' tax returns.

IRC Section 7216 generally prohibits disclosure of tax return data to a third party without the client's consent. But there are a number of exceptions, where the preparer may indeed disclose the data without first obtaining the client's consent.

This does not appear to be one of the exceptions. The exceptions are listed in Treas. Reg. §301.7216-2. The relevant text of the regs is as follows:

The provisions of section 7216(a) and § 301.7216-1 will not apply to any disclosure of tax return information if the disclosure is made pursuant to any one of the following documents:

(1) The order of any court of record, Federal, State, or local.

(2) A subpoena issued by a grand jury, Federal or State.

(3) A subpoena issued by the United States Congress.

(4) An administrative order, demand, summons or subpoena that is issued in the performance of its duties by -

(i) Any Federal agency as defined in 5 U.S.C. 551(1) and 5 U.S.C. 552(f), or

(ii) A State agency, body, or commission charged under the laws of the State or a political subdivision of the State with the licensing, registration, or regulation of tax return preparers.

(5) A written request from a professional association ethics committee or board investigating the ethical conduct of the tax return preparer.